Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: April 2019 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: April 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite April 2019 titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due March 1! 

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

“Smart, lovely, yet socially awkward Annika avoids the tumult of the crowd, preferring the kind of quiet discipline she finds in chess. That’s how she meets outgoing Jonathan, beating him at his first game when he joins the chess club. Soon they are planning their lives together, but they are separated by tragedy and meet again years later. She’s a librarian (of course), he’s a divorced Wall Street genius, and maybe their love has withstood what they’ve endured. Big promo, much love; from the New York Times best-selling author of ONE THE ISLAND.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

Three starred reviews!

“[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim

“A Byzantine web of lies surrounds a fatal fire at an unusual treatment facility in this taut legal drama. Kim, a former trial lawyer who turns 50 the same week her debut novel is published, does not make it easy on the reviewer charged with describing her book. This is a complicated and unusual story—though when you are reading it, it will all seem smooth as silk…With so many complications and loose ends, one of the miracles of the novel is that the author ties it all together and arrives at a deeply satisfying—though not easy or sentimental—ending. Intricate plotting and courtroom theatrics, combined with moving insight into parenting special needs children and the psychology of immigrants, make this book both a learning experience and a page-turner. Should be huge.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek

“One of the first releases from Celadon, Macmillan’s adventuresome new imprint, Georgia newlyweds Henry and Effie decide to honeymoon in Cape May, NJ, in late September 1957 and find the celebrated beach town mostly deserted. But they do meet socialist Clara; her rich playboy lover, Max; and Max’s remote half-sister, to whom Henry is attracted, and things shift from naughty innocence (strolling naked under the stars) to betrayal. Big promotion.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

January 2016 LibraryReads author of THE THINGS WE KEEP

“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews

Three starred reviews!

[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE LIGHT YEARS: A Memoir by Chris Rush

“In this vibrant memoir, artist Rush recounts his strange and colorful childhood and adolescence, from his upbringing in an affluent but turbulent New Jersey home to trying to find his place in the 1970s drug and art scene…Rush’s storytelling shines as he travels across the country and back again, searching for truth, love, UFOs in New Mexico, peace, something that feels like God, and a place to call home. This is a mesmerizing record of his journey through adolescence.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

I KNOW WHO YOU ARE by Alice Feeney

March 2018 LibraryReads author of SOMETIMES I LIE

“Having crashed onto the scene with her best-selling debut, SOMETIMES I LIE, Feeney returns with the story of Aimee Sinclair, a familiar if not immediately identifiable actress stalked by someone who saw what she did and clearly knows who she is. Aimee’s troubles start with the disappearance of her husband.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php