Home » Debuts » Happy Halloween! (10/31/18)

Happy Halloween! (10/31/18)

Trick or treat, bags of sweets, ghosts are walking down the street… blah blah go read books!

THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife

An Amazon Book of the Month!

“What a terrific book…I learned so much about Ravens, and even things I didn’t know about the Tower. It’s like spending a long evening with a bottle of whisky as a wise Ravenmaster tells you everything you need to know.”—Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) on Twitter

“Skaife is a very good storyteller, and the book is full of the kind of anecdote that would make a great scene in a movie (like, for instance, the time one of the ravens orchestrated a daring escape from the Tower). A splendid and constantly surprising book.”—Booklist, starred review

Learn more about THE RAVENMASTER from NPR’s interview with author Christopher Skaife

I AM BEHIND YOU by John Ajvide Lindqvist

“Swedish sensation Lundqvist’s (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN) twisting journey into the dark corners of the mind is true psychological horror. It will keep entranced and shocked readers guessing until the very end.”—Library Journal

THE SPELLBOOK OF KATRINA VAN TASSEL: A Story of Sleepy Hollow by Alyssa Palombo

“Readers who enjoy detail and history will find much to pleased with in this feminist reconsideration.”—Wyatt’s World, Library Journal

“Readers seeking a historical romance or a reboot of an American legend will enjoy this tale.”—Booklist

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY by Araminta Hall

May 2018 LibraryReads pick! 

“Sinister psychological thriller…” — Library Journal

“Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative… For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

July 2018 LibraryReads pick!
3 starred reviews!

“WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETH…a twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” — Entertainment Weekly

THE BUS ON THURSDAY by Shirley Barrett

Bridget Jones meets THE EXORCIST in this wickedly funny, dark novel about one woman’s post-cancer retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her. “Eleanor’s voice is bold, frank, and savagely funny. Her observations about the intersections of cancer culture and the rom-com ideology of a certain kind of 21st-century feminism are so keen as to draw blood.” — Kirkus Reviews

DESTROY ALL MONSTERS: The Last Rock Novel by Jeff Jackson

“Jackson builds an anxious, deeply felt narrative probing a nationwide epidemic of murders of musicians…Infected with this eerie conceit, and expressed through gritty, sharp prose, the novel provides both deep character exploration and a nuanced commentary on music, creativity, and violence.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CHRYSALIS by Brendan Deneen

“Reading like a Hollywood horror flick, Deneen’s recent release has all the elements of a successful scary story: a spooky old house, a foreboding basement, and an eerie psychological breakdown. Recommended for readers of thrillers, supernatural horror, and sf.”—Library Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php