Home » Reviews and Publicity » Happy #BookBday (6/5/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (6/5/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these top-notch new releases!

HOW HARD CAN IT BE? by Allison Pearson
Also available in audio
A June 2018 LibraryReads pick with THREE starred reviews! Hilarious and poignant, the new adventures of Kate Reddy, the beleaguered heroine of Allison Pearson’s groundbreaking New York Times bestseller I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT. “Tackling sexism, growing older, and understanding one’s needs when catering to those of so many others, Pearson writes realism with all the fun of escapism.” — Booklist, starred review

KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with THREE starred reviews! The critically acclaimed author of OUTLINE and TRANSIT, completes her “stunning” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) trilogy with a finale that examines the relationship between pain and honor, and investigates the moral nature of success as a precept of both art and living. “Brilliantly accomplished and uncompromisingly dark.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

TREEBORNE by Caleb Johnson
THREE starred reviews! “Using language rich as mulch, debut author Johnson tells the superb saga of three generations of Treebornes, who live near the town of Elberta in the southern reaches of Georgia. Sentence by loamy sentence, this gifted author digs up corpses and upends trees to create a place laden with magic and memory.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review and editor’s pick

UPSTATE by James Wood
Two starred reviews!New Yorker book critic Wood contemplates deep questions while painting an indelible portrait of a family coming to grips, clarifying complex, recognizable problems as he moves his characters forward in ways that seem real and satisfying. Pitch perfect and highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

HALF GODS: Stories by Akil Kumarasamy
Three generations of a Sri Lankan family brave war and navigate the borders of nationality, religion, and love. “Kumarasamy’s brilliant collection of interlinked short stories is a masterful combination of strong, insightful storytelling and tangential political commentary.” — Booklist, starred review

THE PATCHWORK BRIDE by Sandra Dallas
From the bestselling author of A QUILT FOR CHRISTMAS comes the irrepressible story of one woman’s quest to find love without losing herself in the American West. “Strong female characters and intriguing storytelling draw the reader in to this two-hanky read full of love and loss. Fans of gentle romances will thrill to read Dallas’ latest novel, which should appeal to fans of Fannie Flagg and Jennifer Chiaverini.” — Booklist, starred review

TONIGHT I’M SOMEONE ELSE by Chelsea Hodson
From graffiti gangs and Grand Theft Auto to sugar daddies, Schopenhauer, and a deadly game of Russian roulette, in these essays, Chelsea Hodson probes her own desires to examine where the physical and the proprietary collide. “…this is overall a unique collection about being an artist and a woman in a world that doesn’t always value either.” — Booklist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php