Home » Books for Teens » Teen Talk Tuesday (5/16/2018 Edition)

Teen Talk Tuesday (5/16/2018 Edition)

Happy Wednesday, YA librarians, and welcome to this special *Wednesday edition* of Teen Talk Tuesday!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

LEGENDARY by Stephanie Garber
9781250095312
Ages 13 to 18
Also available in audio
The sequel to the New York Times bestselling and #1 IndieNext Pick CARAVAL, following Scarlett’s younger sister, Tella. After being swept up in the magical world of Caraval, Donatella Dragna has finally escaped her father and saved her sister Scarlett from a disastrous arranged marriage. The girls should be celebrating, but Tella isn’t yet free. She made a desperate bargain with a mysterious criminal, and what Tella owes him no one has ever been able to deliver: Caraval Master Legend’s true name.

“The pacing is impeccable, with urgency increasing to an almost breathless point as Tella runs from clue to clue, while bittersweet truths and devastating betrayals unfold.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, starred review

” . . . a tour de force of imagination.” —Kirkus

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber is also available now in trade paperback.
9781250095268

HOW I RESIST by Maureen Johnson
9781250168368
Ages 13 to 18
Also available in audio
A collection of essays, songs, illustrations, and interviews about activism and hope, HOW I RESIST features an all-star group of contributors, including, Libba Bray, Modern Family’s Jesse Tyler Ferguson and his husband Justin Mikita, Alex Gino, Hebh Jamal, Malinda Lo, Hamilton star Javier Muñoz, Rosie O’Donnell, Jodi Picoult, Jason Reynolds, Maya Rupert, Ali Stroker, Sabaa Tahir, Jennifer Weiner, Jacqueline Woodson, and more, all edited and compiled by New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson.

“Candor and passion radiate from the 30 voices raised in this trenchant and timely compendium of interviews, essays, reflections, illustrations, and poems.” —Publishers Weekly

“The editor has done an exceptional job calling on different voices to share their wisdom and thoughts on making a difference. A worthy addition to YA collections.” —School Library Journal

” . . . a light in the darkness . . .” —Booklist

CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae
9781250175250
Also available in audio
CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY is your official invitation to face your fears, navigate your discomfort, and rewrite the “worry” narratives in your mind that keep you from being your best and truest self. This guide walks you through the origins of worry and wonder, teaches you to listen to your emotions rather than silence them, and encourages you to rethink the ways in which you view yourself and the world. Through a thoughtful blend of vulnerability, soulfulness, and science, Amber Rae teaches you how to express the fullness of who you are and everything you have to offer the world.

And don’t miss these new titles from Page Street Kids & Entangled: Teen!

THE QUEEN UNDERNEATH by Stacey Filak
9781624145605
Ages 18 and Up
This dark fantasy debut from Stacey Filak challenges the idea that all protagonists must be heroes by following characters who do everything your mother told you not to do. The way in which THE QUEEN UNDERNEATH spins love, intrigue, action, magic, and incredible world building will make this a go-to for fans of V.E. Schwab.

“This is a fast-paced and fun first novel that gives readers an exciting new world to explore. An easy, gripping read for older readers.” —Booklist

TRUE STORM by L.E. Sterling
9781640631762
Ages 14 and Up
The highly anticipated conclusion to a high-concept sci-fi series perfect for fans of Moira Young, Alexandra Bracken, or Marie Lu.

SPIES, LIES, AND ALLIES by Lisa Brown Roberts
9781633756984
Ages 14 and Up
Signature humor and heart-pounding romance meet Pride and Prejudice in Lisa Brown Roberts’s latest romantic comedy.

Check out all of our 2018 Books for Teens!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php