Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: May 2018 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: May 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks!Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of the strong bonds of family and friendship that women create for themselves, and, of course, some HGTV fixer-upper moments. As a significant bonus, the book’s chilling, brutal opening scenes should be required reading for any politician waffling on the issue of gun control.” Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.”Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks and a most anticipated book of 2018, Heti’s daring new novel explores whether or not to have children. “…this lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Motherhood.”*

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “The tale is infused with optimism but never cloying, and it culminates in a well-earned and satisfying ending, leaving readers impatient for the next installment of the series. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
Two starred reviews! “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE ELECTRIC WOMAN: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts by Tessa Fontaine
A daughter’s astonishing memoir of pushing past fear, through life in a traveling sideshow and her mother’s illness. “This remarkable, beautifully written memoir explores the depth of mother-daughter love and the courageous acts of overcoming fear and accepting change.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
“When lawyer Brooke Trappnell is invited by 99-year-old heiress Josephine Bettendorf Warrick to her 20,000-acre barrier island home, it’s not for the scenery. Josephine wants Brooke to protect her island from developers after her death and to bring together the descendants of her best friends, a spirited bunch who dubbed themselves the High Tide Club. Therein lies a tale of highjinks, betrayal, and unsolved murder.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

A HOWL OF WOLVES by Judith Flanders
“How kind of Sam Clair to attend the West End play in which her upstairs neighbors have small parts, bringing along game-for-anything boyfriend Jake Field, a Scotland Yard detective. And how shocking that when the second act opens, the director is found dangling from the rafters. This series has been going strong since launching with A MURDER OF MAGPIES, a LibraryReads Top Ten pick.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE SHADOW KILLER by Arnaldur Indridason
In the second book in the compelling new series following November 2017 LibraryReads pick THE SHADOW DISTRICT, Flóvent and Thorson’s murder investigation will lead them down a path darker than either of them expected, and force them to reckon with their own demons. “Indridason’s voice, straightforward and tinged with sadness, works particularly well here, as he coaxes out tragic secrets and captures the occupation’s impact with intriguing period detail, particularly the social impact of Reykjavik’s emerging nightlife and the Icelandic Nationalist Party’s Nazi legacy.” — Booklist

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Shadow Killer.”*

MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley
When midlife woes descend, a long-divorced couple find their paths merging again in this breakout book for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. “McCauley’s effervescent prose is full of wit and wisdom on every topic—college application essays, Airbnb operation, weed addiction, live porn websites, and, most of all, people…. A gin and tonic for the soul.” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY by Araminta Hall
Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Holy cats. It’s a great psychologial thriller but with a VERY strong social point that’s very much of the moment—I’ll be putting this one in EVERYONE’S hands this summer.” — Gregg Winsor, Readers’ Advisory Specialist, Johnson County Library, Overland Park KS

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

CHASING NEW HORIZONS by Alan Stern & David Grinspoon
A behind the scenes look at the science, politics, egos and public expectations that fueled the greatest space mission of our time: NASA spacecraft New Horizons’ mission to Pluto. “Stern, principal investigator of the New Horizons mission, and astrobiologist Grinspoon join forces to tell an amazing story.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Chasing New Horizons.”*

There are even more May 2018 titles in our Edelweiss collection!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

*Advance reading material only available to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S. who actively participate in LibraryReads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.