Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: August 2017 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: August 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Aug17LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the August 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due June 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny
When a mysterious figure appears on the village green on a cold November day in Three Pines, Armand Gamache, now Chief Superintendent of the Sûreté du Québec, knows something is seriously wrong. But, legally, all he can do is watch and wait. “Last year’s A GREAT RECKONING [was] a LibraryReads pick that was No. 1 on the New York Times hardcover fiction, ebook fiction, and combined-format best sellers lists.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

EMMA IN THE NIGHT by Wendy Walker
Bestselling and LibraryReads author Wendy Walker returns with a thriller about two missing sisters and what happens when only one returns. “Walker’s second thriller delves into dark territory, pitting a fully dimensional cast of clever, damaged characters against each other in high-stakes mind games. Both twisted and twisty, this smart psychological thriller sets a new standard for unreliable narrators.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

GONE GULL by Donna Andrews
“An Agatha, Anthony, and Barry Award winner (and LibraryReads author), Andrews takes us to the Biscuit Mountain Craft Center, where series heroine Meg Langslow is helping out her grandmother for the summer. Vandalism and a dead body distract from her duties, even as she joins her grandfather in his search for a rare gull. Sweet!” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

GONE TO DUST by Matt Goldman
The debut PI murder mystery from Emmy Award-winning TV writer Matt Goldman featuring an unusual crime—a murdered woman is covered in dust from hundreds of vacuum cleaner bags. “Goldman’s experience as a stand-up comic, playwright, and TV writer show to advantage in this first novel’s wit, the story’s pace, and his hero’s charm. Offer this one (the start of a proposed series) to aficionados of chilly Scandinavian noir and the new generation of Philip Marlowe fans.” — Booklist
BONUS: Read our Q&A with Matt Goldman!

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

EXPOSED by Lisa Scottoline
Mary DiNunzio wants to represent her old friend Simon Pensiera, a sales rep who was wrongly fired by his company, but her partner Bennie Rosato represents the parent company. When she confronts Mary, explaining this is a conflict of interest, an epic battle of wills and legal strategy between the two ensues—ripping the law firm apart, forcing everyone to take sides and turning friend against friend.

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Exposed.”*

SAFE by Ryan Gattis
“Gattis, who has written YA and adult fiction about teens, here delivers a gritty L.A. crime novel about two men seeking redemption. The criminal life is carefully rendered, the stakes are clear, and the characters’ humanity is rich and refreshing. …this is an emotionally rich page-turner whose devastating ending still offers a glimmer of hope.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

CLASS MOM by Laurie Gelman
A clever debut novel about a year in the life of a kindergarten class mom—a brilliant send-up of the petty and surprisingly cutthroat terrain of parent politics. “Gelman pens an uproariously funny first novel with a relatable protagonist. Moms will clamor for this story, trying to hold back tears of laughter as Jen establishes her voice and place as the class mom.” — Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY by Cherise Wolas
An audacious and dazzling debut novel for fans of Claire Messud and Lauren Groff about a woman who struggles with the sacrifices required by motherhood and how an unthinkable betrayal confirms her deepest fears.

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

HAPPINESS: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After by Heather Harpham
“An award-winning writer, performer, and teacher of physical theater/improvisation, Harpham tells a heartrending story of young love, getting pregnant, her partner’s lack of interest in having children, returning home alone, then discovering hours after giving birth that something was dangerously wrong with her baby. There are terrible choices to make and a crooked little road to follow toward some kind of radiant happiness.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Happiness.”*

There are even more August 2017 titles in our Edelweiss collection!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

*Advance reading material only available to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S. who actively participate in LibraryReads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php