Home » Debuts » Happy Valentine’s #BookBday

Happy Valentine’s #BookBday

Let one of these new books be your Valentine today:

THE DARK FLOOD RISES by Margaret Drabble
Three starred reviews for this novel about a highly regarded expert on housing for the elderly who is herself getting on in age. “For women of a certain age, it is a pure pleasure to grow older alongside Drabble. For all others, there’s plenty of joy to be had in this thoughtful meditation on aging and mortality.” — Library Journal, starred review

INSOMNIAC CITY by Bill Hayes
A Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover Great New Writers pick! A moving celebration of what Hayes calls “the evanescent, the eavesdropped, the unexpected” of life in New York City, and an intimate glimpse of his relationship with the late Oliver Sacks. “A unique and exuberant celebration of life and love.” — Kirkus Reviews

DROP THE BALL: Achieving More by Doing Less by Tiffany Dufu, with a foreword by Gloria Steinem
A bold and inspiring memoir and manifesto from a renowned voice in the women’s leadership movement who shows women how to cultivate the single skill they really need in order to thrive: the ability to let go. “DROP THE BALL will likely be dubbed by many as the heir apparent to LEAN IN… But there are key differences between Dufu and Sandberg that are likely to make DROP THE BALL resonate with a more diverse circle of women. Her message is not only refreshing, but long overdue.” — The Daily Beast

ALL THAT’S LEFT TO TELL by Daniel Lowe
ROOM meets THE CRYING GAME in this haunting, luminous debut novel about a man and his relationship with his daughter, his captor, his past, and his future. “An American is taken hostage in Pakistan in this captivating page-turner, and as you spiral through an endless, fascinating trail of stories shared between the prisoner and his captor it becomes clear that the relationship between them is far more complex than one could possibly imagine.” — Newsweek

THE WEIGHT OF HIM by Ethel Rohan
Big Billy Brennan sets out to redeem himself and save his family by losing half of his 400 pounds in this debut in the tradition of THE MIDDLESTEINS and THE LITTLE GIANT OF ABERDEEN COUNTY. “First-time novelist Rohan shows impressive acuity in portraying the many facets of Billy’s and his family’s grief. Fans of domestic tales, especially those set in small towns, will root for Billy.” — Booklist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php