Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: March 2017 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: March 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the March 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due January 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens
In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started her life over with her daughter—or so she thought. “Gripping… The difficulty of reading this book as a survivor must be emphasized; those of us who’ve endured domestic violence will recognize our lasting terrors and looking-over-our-shoulder habits in these pages and in this woman, as Stevens’ portrayal is spot-on. At the same time, survivors will want to pass the book on to everyone who ever asked them why they didn’t just leave. A must for public libraries.” — Booklist

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Never Let You Go.”*

EDGAR AND LUCY by Victor Lodato
Two starred reviews for this second novel from the author of the award-winning MATHILDA SAVITCH, about the complicated love a mother has for her unusual child and vice versa, and their drive to create family wherever they can find it. “Through numerous changing viewpoints, the truth is gradually revealed, creating suspense and rewarding readers with unexpected parallels and touching connections. Lodato’s remarkable novel traces a broken family’s spiritual journey toward healing in moving, magical prose.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Edgar and Lucy.”*

A TWIST OF THE KNIFE by Becky Masterman
When ex-FBI agent Brigid Quinn is contacted by former colleague Laura Coleman to help exonerate Marcus Creighton, a death row inmate in Florida, Brigid agrees to help, especially since the case is the perfect distraction from her complicated family relationships. “Edgar-finalist Masterman presents a compassionate, clear-eyed depiction of the painful foibles of human nature in her chilling, twist-filled third thriller featuring retired FBI agent Brigid Quinn. A compelling, complex lead, Brigid has no problem skirting the straight and narrow in her quest for justice.”
Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

ALMOST MISSED YOU by Jessica Strawser
A powerful debut that knits parental abduction with devastating secrets unraveling among friends and spouses. “Fans of smart women’s fiction mixed with a fast-paced plot should not miss this startling first novel from the editorial director of Writer’s Digest Magazine.” — Library Journal

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Almost Missed You.”*

MERCIES IN DISGUISE: A Story of Hope, a Family’s Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them by Gina Kolata
In this work of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS, New York Times science reporter Kolata follows a family through genetic illness and one courageous daughter who decides her fate shall no longer be decided by a genetic flaw. “Kolata delivers an inspiring chronicle of a remarkable family, medical advances, and redefining destiny.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

BLUE LIGHT YOKOHAMA by Nicolas Obregon
In a beautifully written, hauntingly original first novel, Tokyo Police Inspector Iwata and his recalcitrant partner, Noriko Sakai, are assigned to investigate a disturbing multiple murder with puzzling ritualistic details by a criminal called the Black Sun Killer. “Obregon’s full-bodied prose is by turns gritty and poetic, and it’s consistently energetic. Given the terrific chemistry between the two lead detectives, here’s hoping this debut novel kicks off a new series.” — Kirkus Reviews

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Blue Light Yokohama.”*

THE LOVING HUSBAND by Christobel Kent
A taut and absorbing psychological thriller about a murdered husband who may not have been so loving after all. “Kent intensifies Fran’s alienation with a steadily darkening atmosphere and foreboding sense of place that cleverly disguises red herrings. A creepy, addictive read for fans of S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP and Clare Mackintosh’s I LET YOU GO.” — Booklist

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Loving Husband.”*

THE RIVER OF KINGS by Taylor Brown
Two brothers travel a storied river’s past and present in search of the truth about their father’s death in the second novel by the acclaimed author of FALLEN LAND. “Drawing comparisons to James Dickey’s DELIVERANCE and Charles Frazier’s COLD MOUNTAIN, Brown’s impressive second novel is an intense, solidly written story of family loyalty, Southern traditions, and haunting historic landscapes, all bound up in the mythical powers of the Altamaha River.” — Library Journal, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “River of Kings.”*

CONVICTION by Julia Dahl
In Dahl’s third powerful novel, Rebekah Roberts investigates a murder that occurred in Brooklyn after the Crown Heights riots of 1991, for which the wrong man may have been convicted. “Dahl’s debut novel, INVISIBLE CITY, won the Macavity, Barry, and Shamus awards and Edgar and Mary Higgins Clark finalist status; the follow-up RUN YOU DOWN got some strong reviews, too (‘will grip mystery and thriller lovers until the final page,’ LJ).” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Conviction.”*

WALKING TO LISTEN: 4,000 Miles Across America, One Story at a Time by Andrew Forsthoefel
A Winter/Spring 2017 Indies Introduce pick! A memoir of one young man’s coming of age on a cross-country trek—told through the stories of the people of all ages, races, and inclinations he meets along the highways of America.

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul.

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “One Day We’ll All Be Dead.”*

THE HOPE CHEST by Viola Shipman
From the beloved author of Indie Next pick THE CHARM BRACELET comes a story about an heirloom hope chest and the connection it inspires among three people in need of hope: a fiercely independent woman battling ALS, her husband, and their struggling caregiver. “Shipman’s sentimental tearjerker is a good choice  for fans of gentle, heartwarming fiction. Readers of Christian fiction may also appreciate its messages of hope and faith in the face of adversity.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

There are even more March 2017 titles in our Edelweiss collection!

New to LibraryReads? Read our FAQ for more information on how to participate.

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted for access to Macmillan e-galleys.

*Only available to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S. who actively participate in LibraryReads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php