Home » Reviews and Publicity » Genre Stars!

Genre Stars!

We’re seeing many stars for these great genre reads:

BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price
“With its intricate cat-and-mouse game, array of idiosyncratic characters, and brooding atmosphere, BY GASLIGHT has much to please fans of both classic suspense and Victorian fiction.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The author’s blend of quest, grief, betrayal, and the mysteries of identity will appeal to readers of literary crime fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
“Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (APPLE TREE YARD), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” Library Journal, starred review

DESOLATION FLATS by Andrew Hunt
“Set in 1938, Hunt’s outstanding third mystery featuring Mormon policeman Art Oveson (after A KILLING IN ZION) combines a moving portrayal of a man attempting to deal with his wife’s depression with a clever whodunit story line. The richness of the characters, including secondary ones, and the imaginative plot make this the best yet in the series.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[A] knockout of a novel… so powerful it can be taken as a stand-alone. The real magic here, though, is the author’s ability to make this ordinary man so fascinating. Credit Hunt’s writing. Like his hero, it’s only plain on the surface.” Booklist, starred review

INVISIBLE PLANETS: Contemporary Chinese Science Fiction in Translation by Ken Liu
“This stellar anthology of 13 stories selected and translated by Liu brings the best of Chinese science fiction to anglophones. Although greatly varied in theme and approach, all of these stories impress with their visionary sweep and scope. The inclusion of three essays on the significance of science fiction to China and its writers underscores the thoughtfulness that Liu put into curating this superb compilation.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A phenomenal anthology of short speculative fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php