Home » Debuts » Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

It’s official — we’re in big book season! Happy #BookBday to:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 & Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall with THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
One of Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall! A magnificent and unflinching debut novel set over the course of one day near the end of the Sri Lankan Civil War, as a newly-married couple explores the possibility of intimacy in a place of profound trauma. “Dinesh finds beauty in the worst of situations, which contributes to making this debut deeply moving and hopeful.”
Publishers Weekly

A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. “Stuart writes with powerful, plainspoken emotion, beautifully illuminating not only the challenges that come with an autistic child, but also the unexpected moments of grace. This is a luminous portrait of the world and the relationship that a father and son build together.” — Booklist, starred review

SLEEPING ON JUPITER by Anuradha Roy
“Winner of the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, short-listed for the Hindu Literary Prize, and long-listed for the Man Booker Prize, this novel of contemporary India rides the rails to the temple-laden seaside town of Jarmuli, as three elderly women cross paths with a tattooed young woman named Nomi who makes documentaries. Sudden violence reveals endemic darkness in Jarmuli’s checkered past.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

THE SECRET INGREDIENT OF WISHES by Susan Bishop Crispell
This charming debut novel about wishes, secrets, and the power of pie stars 26-year-old Rachel Monroe, a young woman who moves to a small rural town in North Carolina to keep a very unusual secret: she can make wishes come true.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php