Home » Debuts » Happy #BookBday (7/6/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (7/6/16 Edition)

Happy belated #BookBday to these new titles on shelves now:

ABSALOM’S DAUGHTERS by Suzanne Feldman
Two half-sisters, one black and one white, embark on a risky road trip through the 1950s Jim Crow South in this spellbinding story of identity and race. “A searing and magical debut by a monumental new talent.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE LIFE OF THE WORLD TO COME by Dan Cluchey
A love story told slantwise featuring a heartbroken (and slightly neurotic) young lawyer, an ethereal soap actress, a prisoner on death row, and a dog named Rafael Uribe Uribe. “A good suggestion for readers looking for something a little bit different.” — Booklist

THE HOUSE BY THE LAKE: One House, Five Families, and a Hundred Years of German History by Thomas Harding
An intimate and revelatory history of Germany, told over a tumultuous century through the lives of the different families that lived in one house. “This personal saga centered on a family home will appeal to enthusiasts of German history, especially post-World War II division and reunification.” — Library Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php