Home » Reviews and Publicity » 2016 Macavity Award Nominees

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! First, some awards news: we have 6 nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards!

Best Mystery
LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton

Best First Mystery
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Best Critical/Biographical
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
TOM & LUCKY (and George & Cokey Flo) by C. Joseph Greaves

Now for some new mysteries hitting shelves this month:

WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
A June 2016 LibraryReads pick! In this riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Game Warden Mike Bowditch is on the trail of a ruthless vigilante amid the snow-covered mountains of Maine. “The suspense is strong and the action is well rendered. WIDOWMAKER will go down well with armchair outdoorsfolk, especially fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.” — Booklist

PRESSURE by Brian Keane
A free diver is called in to investigate a seismological event in the Indian Ocean when events take a deadly turn and she and her crew must fight the monsters in the depths and those ashore. “Don’t just suggest to horror readers—although Keene does include a few fun insider references for genre fans. This is a perfect beach read for fans of Michael Crichton, Mira Grant, or Preston and Child—if you dare to take this book anywhere near an open body of water.” — Booklist, starred review

THE DEVIL’S COLD DISH by Eleanor Kuhns
In the fifth book in the 1790s historical mystery series from MWA Award winner (and librarian!) Eleanor Kuhns, Will Rees’ small farm town begins to suspect his wife of murder by witchcraft. “The historical research is impeccable and the theme of religious persecution is highly relevant for today.” — Library Journal

SIDNEY CHAMBERS AND THE DANGERS OF TEMPTATION by James Runcie
The eagerly anticipated fifth installment in the Grantchester mystery series. “Fans of the books and the British-made PBS program the series has spawned won’t want to miss this one.” — Booklist

POLARIS by Todd Tucker
A man with amnesia who wakes up on a submarine in the middle of a mutiny, but he has no idea which side he’s on.

AIR TIME by Hank Philippi Ryan
The Agatha and Anthony Award nominated novel starring TV reporter Charlotte McNally is now back in print (and also available in trade paperback).

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php