Home » Debuts » Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

These new & forthcoming science fiction & fantasy titles will transport you to another world:

SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey
“Human warmth underlies this exciting and furiously paced fable of fur, fangs, and family. Emphasizing intricate family dynamics alongside shape-changing and magic, Humphrey’s debut merges victim and victimizer, reality and the occult. This paranormal tale stands out even in its very crowded field.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

TIME SIEGE by Wesley Chu
“In this engrossing sequel to TIME SALVAGER, Chu continues a futuristic saga that pits fugitive time traveler James Griffin-Mars and his allies, who seek to rescue a ravaged Earth from utter destruction, against Valta, the megacorporation that rules the galaxies. The story’s intricate plotting, breathtaking battles, and hefty doses of cruelty, betrayal, sacrifice, courage, and hope culminate in a cliff-hanger that will leave readers longing for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political cyberthriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
An anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered.” — Library Journal

THE MERMAID’S SECRET by Katie Schickel (also available in trade paperback)
From the author of one of Booklist‘s Top 10 Women’s fiction of 2015 comes an original beach read about a young woman who catches a wave that transforms her into a mermaid. Now she has 30 days to choose between between land and sea; legs and fins; her humanity and her freedom.

GHOST TALKERS by Mary Robinette Kowal
Ginger Stuyvesant, an American heiress living in London during World War I, is working as a medium for the Spirit Corps when she discovers a traitor.

Lian Hearn’s Tale of Shikanoko series
An epic, action-packed four-volume adventure in mythical, medieval Japan, where the drama plays out against a background of wild forests, elegant castles, hidden temples, and savage battlefields.

EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS (Book 1)
AUTUMN PRINCESS, DRAGON CHILD (Book 2)
LORD OF THE DARKWOOD (Book 3)
THE TENGU’S GAME OF GO (Book 4)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php