Home » Debuts » Sneak Peek: February 2016 Indie Next List

Sneak Peek: February 2016 Indie Next List

indie nextThe February 2016 Indie Next list includes 5 Macmillan titles!

THE YID by Paul Goldberg
Two starred reviews! “In this fantastical (and fantastic) debut novel by reporter and writer Goldberg, who immigrated to the United States from the USSR in 1973, a troupe of unlikely Soviet characters assembles with a single objective…to do in Stalin before his henchmen unleash the pogrom. Highly recommended for readers with a grasp of history who enjoy imaginative deviations from what we think we know as historical truth.” — Library Journal, starred review

ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews for the best book since THE BOURNE IDENTITY! Evan Smoak, a.k.a The Nowhere Man, is a legendary figure with skills, resources, a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn…and a target on his back. “Knowing that this is the start of a series reduces tension only a sliver in this hi-tech, nonstop thriller. Hurwitz, known for this kind of adrenaline-producing fiction, adds enough humanity to the action to make this is a standout, and readers should get in at the start. As if a big print run and marketing plans weren’t enough, screen rights have already been sold, with Hurwitz doing the screenplay and Bradley Cooper as producer and possible star.” — Booklist, starred review

THE FORGETTING TIME by Sharon Guskin
A Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! A debut for fans of M.L. Stedman’s THE LIGHT BETWEEN THE OCEANS, this novel is about a dying man with questions, a young boy who might have answers, and two mothers caught in the middle. “Deftly braiding together suspense, family drama, and keen insights into the workings of the brain, Guskin poses key and unsettling questions about love and memory, life and death, belief and fact. A novel that bridges the fuzzy categories of ‘literary’ and ‘commercial,’ THE FORGETTING TIME offers a vast spectrum of significant and nuanced topics that will catalyze probing discussions.” — Booklist, starred review

ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders
A Kirkus Reviews’ Most Anticipated Book of 2016! A friendship between two adolescent misfits is the catalyst for an apocalyptic reckoning in this stunning SF debut. “At turns darkly funny and deeply melancholy, this is a polished gem of a novel from the Hugo Award–winning editor in chief of the website io9.com.”
Library Journal, starred review

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
A January 2016 LibraryReads pick! Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php