Home » Reviews and Publicity » Happy #BookBday (3/10/14 Edition)

Happy #BookBday (3/10/14 Edition)

Hey hey, it’s time for another #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

BONES & ALL by Camille DeAngelis
A haunting coming-of-age story about a young outcast as she sets out on a journey to find her long-lost father, who can tell her why she does the bad thing she does—literally consuming anyone who gets too close to her. “Maren’s story also offers readers plenty to chew on: issues of feminism, family, and the very idea of flesh eating. What’s more, it’s a genuinely entertaining (though occasionally stomach-turning) story of a young ghoul’s coming of age. Delicious fun.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A FIREPROOF HOME FOR THE BRIDE by Amy Scheibe
Scheibe’s “spectacular” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) sophomore effort explores the coming of age of a young Minnesota woman in the late 1950s. “Fans of Kathryn Stockett will identify strongly with the agonizing choices Emmy must make as ugly family secrets concerning racial hatred emerge. The author artfully folds fashion, cars, and music references into the story, and readers will delight in the surprise twist on the 1950s-style love affair that at first appears to be the perfect solution to the heroine’s woes.” — Library Journal

THE LOST CHILD by Caryl Phillips
In the tradition of Jean Rhys’s Wide Sargasso Sea and J. M. Coetzee’s Foe, award-winning novelist Phillips revisits Emily Brontë’s masterpiece Wuthering Heights, creating a sweeping novel spanning generations of orphans and outcasts. “Gorgeously crafted and emotionally shattering.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BAREFOOT LAWYER: A Blind Man’s Fight for Justice and Freedom in China by Chen Guangcheng
An electrifying memoir by the blind Chinese activist who slipped away from house arrest in April 2012 and surfaced at the American embassy in Beijing, inspiring millions with the story of his fight for justice and his belief in the cause of freedom. “A fast-paced, eye-opening read for those interested in human rights, foreign policy, and cross-cultural studies. This title provides an interesting counterpoint to material focused narrowly on the economic growth and impact of modern China.” — Library Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php