Home » Reviews and Publicity » Critters & Crime…

Critters & Crime…

To continue our celebration of Booklist's Mystery Month, meet the many cats and dogs dutifully serving alongside our favorite detectives! 

Booklist crime & critters ad 

Team #Meow

THE CAT SITTER'S NINE LIVES by Blaize & John Clement
Pet-sitter and amateur sleuth Dixie Hemingway is back in this ninth installment of Blaize Clement's beloved cozy mystery series, now written by her son John. Dixie rescues a man from a car accident, and a day later strange things start to happen—the man she rescued claims to be Dixie's husband, a bookstore owner and his cat vanish, and a mysterious phone call from a new client lures her to a crumbling, abandoned mansion on the outskirts of town.

BLOOD RUBIES by Jane Cleland
In the ninth book in Cleland's mystery series featuring amateur sleuth/antiques appraiser Josie Prescott, celebrity chef Ana Yartsin—known for her Fabergé egg-shaped cakes, as well as the Fabergé Spring Egg snow globe—is planning the desserts for her friend Heather and Jason's upcoming wedding. When Josie arrives to appraise the snow globe, she finds it smashed and Jason dead.
Meet Jane Cleland at ALA Annual!

DOING IT AT THE DIXIE DEW by Ruth Moose
Winner of the Malice Domestic Competition for Best First Traditional Mystery Novel, Moose's Southern cozy features Beth McKenzie, a proprietor of a bed and breakfast called The Dixie Dew, where guests are being murdered.

THE BEST CAT BOOK EVER! by Kate Funk
OK, OK, it's not a mystery…. But it’s hilarious. 


Team #Woof 

HOUNDED by David Rosenfelt
The next novel in David Rosenfelt's witty, heartfelt mystery series sees attorney Andy Carpenter suddenly fostering a child (and a basset hound!) and defending a close friend suspected of murder. 

MURDER AT HONEYCHURCH HALL by Hannah Dennison
In the tradition of Louise Penny and G.M. Malliet, this charming and witty first book in a new mystery series stars former TV celebrity host Kat Stanford, who joins her newly widowed mother Iris at mom's new English manor house. When the nanny goes missing, the loyal housekeeper ends up dead, and Iris is accused of the murder, Kat realizes she hardly knows her mother at all and wonders if she is—indeed—guilty.
Meet Hannah Dennison at ALA Annual!

MIDNIGHT PLAN OF THE REPO MAN by W. Bruce Cameron
A repo man's ordinary life is turned upside down when he starts hearing the voice of a dead realtor in his head. On the upside, his best friend is a low-energy Basset hound named Jake, with whom he shares a simple life of stealing cars.

A DEADLY MEASURE OF BRIMSTONE by Catriona McPherson
In McPherson's latest Dandy Gilver mystery, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious-and deadly-events.

css.php